Make Some Space

It’s here!… Today, September 19th is the second annual Park(ing) Day.  Conceived by REBAR, a San Francisco-based art collective, PARK(ing) Day is a one-day, global event centered in San Francisco where artists, activists, and citizens collaborate to temporarily transform parking spots into “PARK(ing)” spaces: temporary public parks.

This is obviously a “green movement” but I think it has greater implications.  I was lucky enough to walk past three of these exhibits on my way into the office… one of which I had enough time to sit at while enjoying my coffee for a bit and I can honestly say that it changed my morning.  If nothing else… it will change your perspective… and only good things can come of that. 

If you get inspired and are interested in participating next year, check out the Park(ing) Day How to Manual for hints on how to create your own parking project.  Have fun – and send me pics!

1 Comment

Filed under design, get inspired, Only in San Francisco, Reality Check, trends

One response to “Make Some Space

  1. babybound

    Do you think my handicap parking thingy gets karma free if I turn the spot into a part when I’m done with it? I could really use all the good karma I can get.

Leave a Reply

